Faculty




Rainer Schulte

Director, Center for Translation Studies and Professor

972-883-2092

schulte@utdallas.edu 

JO 5.508B


Charles Hatfield

Associate Professor 

972-883-2780

charles.hatfield@utdallas.edu 

JO 5.516 


Dennis Kratz

Dean, School of Arts & Humanities and Professor

972-883-2984

dkratz@utdallas.edu 

JO 4.510d 


Frank Dufour

Director, ATEC PhD Program and Associate Professor

972-883-4129

frank.dufour@utdallas.edu 

ATC 3.210





Sean Cotter

Associate Professor

972-883-2037

sean.cotter@utdallas.edu 

JO 5.106

Zsuzsanna Ozsváth

Professor

972-883-2758

zozsvath@utdallas.edu

JO 4.818


Frederick Turner

Professor

972-883-2777

 fturner@utdallas.edu

JO 5.522


Clay Reynolds

Director, Creative Writing Program and Professor

972-883-2763

clayr@utdallas.edu 

JO 4.624





Ming Dong Gu

Director, Confucius Institute and Professor

 972-883-2760

mdgu@utdallas.edu 

JO 4.130

Profile




Translation and Scholarship

Translation Studies has begun to emerge as a major field in the humanities. The act of translating literature has become more properly recognized as a major scholarly and creative contribution; the study of literary translation has gained solid ground in the academy as numerous translation centers are founded at various universities; and, finally, the concept of translation has emerged as an innovative way to think about literature and culture across national and linguistic borders.

The Center for Translation Studies has long been an advocate for the scholarly value of translation--especially as it relates to tenure and promotion. Often called upon to make the case for the scholarly value of translations, the Center for Translation Studies has drafted a document on "Translation and Academic Promotion and Tenure."